“I earn an average of £2,600 – £4,000 a month” says long-time phone sex operator

Reaghan* who has been working as a phone sex operator for about 6 years now, tells us about the challenges she faced, the training process she underwent, and her views about phone sex industry as  an insider.She started,

 “I became ill and had to resign my position in customer service. I looked for something I could do that would allow me to work from home and someone suggested “You have a great voice and you are the dirtiest person I know. Why not try phone sex?”, and so that was the first time I ever thought about it”.

About the interview process,

Well! I was invited to apply at a well known company and provided a lengthy communication regarding my knowledge of fetish and experience. I spoke on the phone with 3 different officers of the company I was seeking to work with before being brought on as a customer of their platform. I was asked if I would use my own pictures or provide a content model and to provide a biography for customers to review”.

“All in all, from the day I was invited to apply to the day I took my first call, was 30 days. I was not asked to undergo any training process, as I had extensive knowledge of the fetish world. But to any beginner, I would suggest, if you are going to specialize in fetish or domination types of calls, taking classes to get familiar with the general principles can only benefit your overall business.

  “I earn an average of £2,600 – £4,000/month and I work for about 12 – 14 hours per day, 7 days per week, but it takes a LONG time to establish you to be able to support yourself with it. My first year, I made less than £650/month”.

“The good thing here is most of my friends are supportive but feel they could never make that leap into their own employ. Even though there is no problem with this for my friends, working as a phone sex operator may be a problem with relationships. It opens up your experiences and can be very emotionally draining. At the end of some shifts, I find myself sometimes feeling more than a little overwhelmed by the emotional connections made with clients, especially as they become more of a long-term relationship”.

According to the online survey we conducted, more than 85% of students believe that, that more students are entering phone sex industries due to the increase in the tuition fees.  She says,

There are more people coming to the industry to try and offset their financial obligations but I’m also finding more and more are not able to keep up with it because it does require such a massive investment of time and effort in order to make it a viable career”.

When I think about phone sex as an industry, “Like most industries, there are some aspects which are very empowering and positive for helping people to explore desires and have companionship they are unable to get in other aspects of their lives but there are also some shady, less positive aspects”.

“Some companies will take advantage of a PSO by offering less than beneficial compensation to someone who doesn’t know any better”.

“It seems like an easy way to make quick money but most of the younger girls are burning out faster than advertised because they are finding it harder to maintain the hours and their studies at the same time”.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

